Correcting Legacy Microsoft Teams Settings

I recently noticed that some of the Microsoft Teams that we had in use exhibited different behaviour to others that had been created more recently. ‘Recently’ (for varying definitions of ‘recent’) created Teams allowed users to edit and delete their messages, whereas a few older Teams did not. The older Teams were all created very early during our rollout of Teams, when Microsoft Teams itself was relatively new.

Checking the Teams messaging policies showed that the correct settings were in place to allow users to edit and delete their messages:

Messaging policy settings

It appeared that these settings were not however being applied for the legacy Teams. Checking in the individual Team settings showed that these were overriding the global settings applied:

Individual Team settings

Note also that in the above screen shot, the ‘Owners can delete all messages’ setting was also unchecked, although this turned out to be the only Team for which this was the case.

I could go through each Team individually and manually check the Team settings, however PowerShell allows us to perform the same actions quickly. The following PowerShell checks for the user Team settings being mis-configured and corrects the settings:

Connect-MicrosoftTeams


$teams = Get-Team | where {$_.AllowUserDeleteMessages -eq $False -OR $_.AllowUserEditMessages -eq $False}


foreach ($t in $teams) {
     Set-Team -DisplayName $t.DisplayName -GroupId $t.GroupId -AllowUserEditMessages $True -AllowUserDeleteMessages $True
}

For the other mis-configured setting mentioned, use ‘AllowOwnerDeleteMessages’ as the search criteria.